Lectio Divina is a way of prayer that allows one to become intimate with and immersed in scripture.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

In Genesis 28:10-22, Jacob sees a ladder reading to the heavens. The four rungs of the ladder are: Lectio, Meditatio, Oratio, and Contemplatio. These are the four stages of Lectio Divina that you can use to reflect on Scripture, whether by yourself or with your households!

Below, we briefly describe the process and stages of Lectio Divina:

First, invite the Holy Spirit to guide you and start with the Sign of the Cross.

Lectio (Read)
Read a selected passage aloud. Allow yourself to simply listen for any words or phrases that might stick with you.

Meditatio (Reflect)
After reading the passage aloud, give yourself a few moments to reflect on the words you just read. Don’t try to analyze the passage, rather just make yourself open and listen to what God may be saying to you.

Oratio (Respond)
Read the passage aloud a second time. After reading and further reflecting on the passage, say the words or phrases that stood out to you aloud. There is no limit to how many words or phrases you should share. Read the passage a third time. After this reading, begin to reflect on and respond to the passage, whether in discussion or journaling. Why did those words or phrases stand out to me? How does this passage connect to my life? What is God trying to tell me in this moment?

Contemplatio (Rest)
After the final reading, allow yourself to silently contemplate the Word. There is no need to journal or think too hard; simply allow God to speak to you and do His work. Conclude with the Sign of the Cross.

There are many ways to reflect on Scripture, and Lectio Divina is just one of them! You can use this during households, to reflect on the Sunday Gospel, or just to add something new to your prayer life. We hope you were able to learn a little more about Lectio Divina and the many different ways there are to pray. God bless!